7 Famous Indian Politicians Who Changed Parties

Welcome back to Humor Nation. A person joins politics for the welfare goals of his society, to represent the issues of his people, and to bring a change. But we know one thing for sure that most of the people, if not everyone in politics aspires to make it big, they work with the agenda of acquiring more and more power, climbing up the hierarchy of power. But sometimes their ambitions aren’t satisfied, the struggle for power is so dominating that it sometimes convinces the politicians to change their allegiance, ideology, and ultimately switch political parties. Today we have brought to you a list of some famous political leaders who switched parties for various reasons, ranging from not being respected enough to the skirmishes over a party ticket.

So Let’s Take A Look At 7 Famous Indian Politicians Who Changed Parties

1. Sharad Pawar

7 Famous Indian Politicians Who Changed Parties

Sharad Pawar is one of the biggest names in Indian politics, with having an experience of more than 50 years of public services. He has served as Maharashtra’s Chief Ministers on three occasions. He separated from Indian National Congress in 1999 and formed the ‘Nationalist Congress Party’ (NCP). After the 12th Lok Sabha was dissolved, PA Sangma, Tariq Anwar, and Sharad Pawar demanded in CWC meeting that the party should propose someone native as the PM candidate and not the Italian born Sonia Gandhi. The three ultimately left the party in response when Sonia who became Congress President after replacing Sitaram Kesri.

2. Mamata Banerjee

Another big name of the Indian politics. Often referred to as Didi by her supporters. She is the first female who held the ministry of coal and the Ministry of HRD in the Indian government. She felt that the government was indifferent towards her proposal as a sports minister to improve the state of sports in India. In 1996, she accused Congress of acting as a stooge of CPI-M in West Bengal. Ultimately, she left Congress in 1997 and formed ‘All India Trinamool Congress’ with Mukul Roy. Her party defeated the 34-year old CPI-M in the elections and Mamta became the Chief Minister of West Bengal.

5 Most Unbiased And Honest News Anchors In Indian Media

3. Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy

Yeduguri Sandinti Jaganmohan Reddy, who is the current Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh and also the founder of the YSR Congress Party and the son of Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy who was the former CM of Andhra Pradesh. Many of the legislators suggested that YSR’s son should be appointed as the next CM, but Sonia and her son didn’t agree to this. INC’s Central leadership also instructed Jaganmohan to call off his condolence tour which led to the fallout between the party high command and himself. His party YSR Congress Party won the 2019 state elections by a big margin.


Anshay Tomar
A movie buff, an Otaku, huge MMA and pro-wrestling follower. I'm a tumblr addict, have many fandoms and I'm also an aspiring artist. Works as a Content Writer.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here